The Popular Kids I Like

Just in case you’ve been reading this blog and think I completely shun anything remotely normal, I thought I’d post a list of the guys & gals that I like, ranked in the top 100. I like them, but could never bring myself to use them. I still like hearing these on other people’s kids!

 

The Girls – rank in 2007:

Isabel – 86
Lily – 27
Elizabeth – 10
Katherine – 39
Anna – 25
Lillian – 33
Sophie – 82
Caroline – 99

And The Boys – rank in 2007:

William – 8
Alexander – 11
James – 15
John – 19
Nicholas – 20
Gabriel -28
Robert – 47
Diego – 58
Julian – 66
Xavier – 68
Sebastian – 72
Henry – 91
Steven – 97 
Timothy – 100

Some of these I wish were higher ranking, so I’d hear them a bit more. Especially on the boys side, Robert, Steven & Timothy particulalrly please me and I don’t think I’ll ever tire of Sophie, Elizabeth, Katherine & Lillian.

 

So, I do like some popular, mainstream, completly normal names. I just choose to go off the beaten path a bit more than most.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lola
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 14:42:43

    Oh, I love Robert. If I had one , I’d nn him Robin, at least occasionally. 🙂 Robert & Julian are really fantastic choices, and if you look at the numbers it’s really not that many. Robert’s got 9,228 last year, #47. That’s approximately 185 a state. Julian’s #66, at 6,672, that’s 133 per state. Unless you live in RI, I think you”re safe with either choice! Top 200 is not nearly as awful as some people think, really!
    Again, Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

  2. Emmy Jo
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 14:15:40

    I actually wish some of these were less popular so I could use them. Katherine is my all-time favorite girls’ name (it’s been that way since I was about seven), but there are just way too many Katie’s nowadays. I love Elizabeth, Lily, and Caroline as well, but with the possible exception of Caroline, they’re all way too common to use.

    On the boys’ side, I have Robert and Julian on my list (though I’m trying to convince my husband that Julius is better). We may end up going with more common boys’ names — he’ll approve some of my oddball girl names, but with boys, my suggestions had better be in the top 200.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

