The Freaky Weird Girls

Well, that’s what I used to call them but I’ve grown rather attached to the following beauties (remember, Beauty is in the eye of the beholder [Not that Beholder doesn’t conjure up monsters for me!]). I just thought, after the Popular Kids post, that I really should try swinging in the opposite direction!  So, here, for your enjoyment are my favorite ‘Freaky Weird Girls’

Tullia– feminine of Tullius, as in Marcus Tullius Cicero.

Petronella/Petronel – a German (among others) feminine form of Peter.

Philomela – Greek, meaning “friend of song”, she’s got a nasty story but in the end, is transformed into a nightingale.

Silke– a German nickname for Celia, pronounced Zil-kə.

Salome– such a pretty sound: sal-OH- may. She’s got a bum rap as the chick who demanded John the Baptist’s head but there was a Salome at the crucifixion as well as later at the tomb, among the women who discovered it empty.

Minu/Minoo– Means ‘Heaven’ in Persian. Minoo’s a variant spelling that makes me smile. It feels like a flower. Beats Nevaeh!

Eos– is the Greek version of the Roman Aurora. Eos is easier to say and looks more awesome too.

Celandine– is a flower name, comes from the Greek word for "swallow" (as in the bird, not the action). Sell-an-deen, such a pretty sound. She’s the ‘cellar door’ of names, for me.

Lettice– No, she’s not produce, she’s the Medieval form of Leticia/Letitia/Laetitia. I love Medieval names and find this one so light and charming. If it wasn’t for the similar vegetable lettUce, I’d use her in a heartbeat. I adore her.

Eglantine– Another flower name, she’s more commonly Sweetbrier. She’s in Chaucer’s ‘The Prioress’s Tale’. Told you I was a sucker for Medieval names!

Clothilde– Pronounced: clo-TEELD, she’s light, lyrical and lovely. Sadly, everyone and their third Uncle  sees the ‘clot’ and thinks it’s awful. She was the wife of Frankish Clovis the Great, whom she converted to Christianity.

Pomeline – She’s actually on my working list, she’s French, for little apple. If only Gwyneth had known!

Cleome– is actually a flower (you may know it as a spider flower) clee-oh-MAY, isn’t she pretty?

Ottoline– in reality, she’s just really uncommon, not weird but ot-TEH-leen is light, beautiful and lovely. She’s at least got some precedent; Lady Ottoline Morrell and storybook Miss Ottoline Brown. Makes Ottoline as least nominally familiar sounding. And I adore her, she’s my #2 name for a girl.

Leave a Reply

