Cecily & Cecilia

 Cecilia has been one of my favorite names since at least Kindergarten.  It was my Babci’s name.  I was nearly cecilypatchwork2named for her which would have been weird as a kid, as my BFF is named Cecilia!  So, move forward all these years later and I am still loving Cecilia. Seems like a perfect sister for Josephine, no? If I named another girl Cecilia, she’d get lost with the three cousins I have already named that. They go by Ceil, Celia & Cecilia. Funnily enough, those cousins are half cousins and their Grandmother was Catherine. My Babci was wife #2!  So I started looking around for variants and rolled right into Cecily. Cecily’s perfect! She’s a bit frilly but no lacy little darling; Cecily’s got a core of steel. I like that the Cec- girls are also feminised boy names, in this case, from Cecil (which came from the Roman family name Caecilius, which was derived from Latin caecus” blind”. I don’t care about the meaning, my association is with Babci and St. Cecilia, patron Saint of Music! 

We have finally decided on a combo: Cecily Pandora Jane. Cecily for My Babci, Pandora for his Mother, Jane for my Mom (her middle name).  It wasn’t easy coming to that decision either, here’s what we ran through coming to CPJ, in just the last three months (I won’t bore you with anything before that!):

Cecily Frances Rupinder           Cecily Jemima Frances 
Cecily Zuleika Jane                   Cecily Rosalind Elinor
Cecily Esme Valentine              Cecily Mathilda Jane
Cecily Pomeline Jane                Cecily Eglantine Jane
Cecily Tallulah Alice                Cecily Juno Valentine
Cecily Saskia Jane                    Cecily Frances Petronel
Cecily Henrietta Plum              Cecily Frances Innogen
Cecily Harriet Valentina           Cecily Jemima Rosaline
Cecily Wilhelmina Violet          Cecily Jemima Marigold
Cecily Winifred Violet              Cecily Jemima Llanfaire
Cecily Flora Marilyn                 Cecily Frances Baudelaire
Cecily Marilyn Grace                Cecily Frances Ophelia
Cecily Marilyn Iris

😀 So you can see, Cecily Pandora Jane was no easy feat. It’s taken me a long time to warm up to Pandora.   I still am a tiny bit wary but I figure, in the middle she’s less likely to cause any damage in middle school. And if they give her too much grief, she can always say “It’s my NanaHoney’s name!” and that’s that.

 

Cecily’s absolutely terrific, feminine, strong, lyrical and the teensiest bit soft. I absolutely love her.

Leave a Reply

