Henrietta and other Girly Misfits

The names I love that seem to get no love anywhere. Misfits? Maybe. All I know is that I really love them and could easily picture myself using them.

Top of the list, Henrietta. Now, don’t get me wrong, I like Henry. I just don’t like his Harry potential. And don’t get me started on what I think is wrong with Hank (foremost, it makes me think of a hankie). Hal is the only nickname possibility I like for Henry, which is why he’s mainly middle material for me (woah, lots of M’s there!) But Henrietta, I adore her plethora of nickname potential: Hettie, Hattie, Etta, Ettie or simply Harriet!  Generally, the more possible nicknames from a name, the happier I am. I love options more than just about anything!  Henrietta Ruby Lilias is my preferred combo.

 

Some of the “other” Misfits:

Florence – I love her fiercely but cannot middle name her for the life of me. Closest to best I can do? Florence Lila Ghislaine.

Euphemia – Another “Oh, I adore her”! Effie is just to die for as a nickname possibility and if that’s too fluffy for her, Mia’s not only doable, it’s livable.  Euphemia Violet Esme, Euphemia Alice Maud & Euphemia Alice Valentine are my top favorites.

Zenaida – She was brought to my attentions by Verity, at Appellation Mountian  And immediately Zenaida Ruby Frances jumped into my head (preceded only by  Zenaida Ruby Alice) and ZRF has stuck. I think she’s awesome. She just makes everyone I mention her to blanch.

Gloriana – I’ve been love with her since I was about 8 when I found her in Ruth Alberta Brown’s Tabitha’s Ivy , I think it was the second of the “Ivy Hall” series. Then again in Edmund Spenser’s “The Faerie Queen” where Gloriana’s allegory for Queen Elizabeth I.  She’s so lush and gorgeous, how could she not appeal?  She’s hard to middle.  Gloriana Ivy Mathilde is my best pairing attempt so far, and I’m still not quite happy with that.

And finally,

Edith – I find her sweetly charming and soft in that lispy storybook sort of way I love. Edith Alice Bertille is my combo of preference and I don’t think I could top myself there. Love her to pieces. Too bad everyone else thinks I’m nuts.

 

So there they are, my Girly Misfits for all to see.  What do you think of them?  Keep them around or mourn their passing? Maybe for the grandkids?  What do you think?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. appellationmountain
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 15:45:18

    I’m not super into Henrietta, mostly because I *love* Harriet. Adore it, especially with the nickname Harriet.

    Euphemia is interesting. So antique – but Effie is a lovely nickname. Florence strikes me as problematic for the reason you mention. Flossie is cute, but I can’t see it working on an adult, and Flo? No!

    Zenaida Ruby Frances ROCKS! I hear your anguish over Gloriana. Gloriana Ivy Mathilde is okay, but not as good as many of your combos.

    As for Edith, I adore the nickname Edie – but not quite enough to use Edith, mostly because I like a lot of E- names far better. But Edith Alice Bertille sounds like a granddaughter of Queen Victoria – fashionable in a very old-fashioned manner.

    Among my Girly Misfits, there’s Esther and Hester – I love them both, and I think I’d put Hester above Esther.

    Along the lines of Henrietta and Euphemia, I was thinking about Brunonia and Fredonia. Brunonia is the author of The Lace Reader – that novel that got so much buzz late summer – and Fredonia popped up in a children’s book Alexei brought home from the library. I can’t see using them, but they’re interesting. But I would use Leocadia in a heartbeat – except that my brother has “reserved” Leonidas, so I guess i’m out of luck. And not planning any more kids anyhow, but still …

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 15:58:10

    I actually followed Euphemaia’s tag out and found a 1 year old Euphemia, nn Emma out West somewhere. She’s a cutie! Makes me a bit braver still, I’ve liked Euphemia for a long time.

    Henrietta/Harriet is appealing because his Great Great Grandma was Harriet but apparently hated her name. Henrietta’s softer than Harriet to me, and gives me fod memories of “the New Zoo Review” which I adored as a little kid. It’s a name that makes me smile and that’s always good or me.

    Sophronia should have gone on this list as well, It’s been a favorite since I realised it was the long form of Fronsie, from “Five Little Peppers and How They Grew” She was my favorite literary character when I was 6. But her sound alone makes her something of a misfit. 😦

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 16:08:19

    Forgot to mention, I’d take Hester over Esther any day myself! Hester’s been a favorite since “The Scarlet Letter” (which was a favorite in High School, see I am weird!) 🙂 Esther is lovely but seems a bit lispier, I have trouble saying Esther all the time, with Hester, no such problem!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

