Ignatius -Saint or Sinner?

I’m sure most are familiar with Ignatius through St. Ignatius Loyola and are familiar with Iggy Pop. talk about good boy/bad boy!  He literally straddles the line!  There’s celebrity precedent too, Cate Blanchett’s third is Ignatius Martin.

 

He’s on my lists because he’s a family name way back and I like him.  It was also one of Arthur Conan Doyle’s middles (His full name: Arthur Ignatius Conan Doyle!) His “”The Lost World” is one of my favorite stories.  I’m rather taken by the “good boy/bad boy” thing too, I figure he can be Iggy if he’s as boisterous as the rest of us are and if he’s quieter, Nate or Nat would work equally well.

 

I’m still wondering about the perfect combo for him. Ignatius Henry August has the most meaning but only so-so flow. Other hits and misses:

Ignatius Julian Reuel 
Ignatius Miles Reuel 
Ignatius Henry Jude
Ignatius Malcolm Arthur/Ignatius Arthur Malcolm
Ignatius Edward Becket
Ignatius Edward Jolyon
Ignatius Edward Grey
Ignatius Henry Otto

 

But none are quite perfect yet.  I totally dig Ignatius and think he sounds quite awesome with the surname. So I keep toying with middles. If anyone has any decent suggestions, feel free to toss ’em my way!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lola
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 18:04:07

    Thanks, Cat! I was starting to wonder where everyone’d gone to, mostly you. glad to “see” you! Thanks for the Vote for IEG, yeah, Grey’ rather tickles my fancy, he feels a bit of a Victorian Dandy, especially next to Edward! Yeah, Reuel stays, not only for his Awesomeness, but Reuel’s got a pretty neat meaning too “friend of God”, how cool is that? ;D And I like the ‘obvious’ nod. I mean, the love of Tolkien is what first got the Mr. & I together, so yeah, I like him. If I could, I’d use him up front!

    Reply

  2. Cat
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 17:38:46

    My friends used to call me Ignatius. No real reason, they just did. I like it, and you’re right, it sounds awesome with your surname. My favorite here, surprisingly, is Ignatius Edward Grey. Usually I hate Grey, but this combo just says awesome to me. I’m also glad to see that Reuel is still hanging out on your lists. I’m all about honoring The Tolkien.

    Reply

  3. appellationmountain
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 08:16:09

    Ignatius Edward Grey gets my vote, but that’s because I think ending with a single syllable choice best matches Simon & Leo’s names. (Or am I remembering wrong?) I’d like Ignatius Becket Grey and Ignatius Jolyon Grey, too. Maybe I just really love the name Grey!

    My kids have a cousin Ignatius. He’s in Poland, where throwback names are just as popular as they’ve become here. My aunt, however, thought they were kidding about the baby’s name. I think the convo went something like this:

    Aunt: Congratulations! What did you name him?
    Iggy’s ‘rents: Ignace! (Polish version of Ignatius)
    Aunt: No, seriously, what did you call him?
    Iggy’s ‘rents: …
    Aunt: Oh. You mean, you really named him Ignace?

    Kick off many long conversations amongst family members about the suitability of Ignace as a baby name and Iggy as a nickname. You know which side I was on! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 09:03:04

    Thanks Verity! I’m on the same side. If I could use Ignace, I would. I think Ignacio is stellar as well. You rememeber right, the kids all have a one syllable third. Not planned, really, just worked out that way! I am really digging Ignatius Jolyon Grey as well, but I’ve been trying to keep something classic (and family related in the middle (hence Edward, Henry, Arthur, Malcolm, Miles & Julian all there somewhere.

    Thanks for stopping in!

    Reply

  5. appellationmountain
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 13:36:16

    Oh, thanks for writing!

    I’ve added you to my blogroll, too – hope that’s okay. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 13:42:41

    Sure! I’m not nearly as interesting as you, but thanks! 😀

    Reply

  7. Birdtoes
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 17:19:22

    Of the combos, the ones I like the best are Ignatius Henry Jude and Ignatius Malcolm Arthur, because the names in each combo have unique vowel sounds.
    I’ve thought of a few other combos:
    Ignatius Otto Edmund
    Ignatius Otto Sebastian
    Ignatius Oliver Lawrence
    Ignatius Oliver Malcolm
    Ignatius Oliver Jude
    Ignatius Emmanuel Jude

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 03, 2009 @ 19:07:11

      Thanks! I’ll have to run those possibilities by the other half to see what he thinks. As it stands, Ignatius Edward Grey is his combo.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

