Maud Anew

Maud, glorious Maud!

I went searching again last night and came up with some beauties. (Not that many will agree with me, Maud being almost universally disliked)

Isn’t she the softest, sweetest thing ever? Maud, so lovely.

This is the color Maud is to me!

This is the color Maud is to me!

Here’s what I came up with late last night:

Maud Coralie Alice
Maud Isobel Clementine
Maud Ottilie Rose (or maybe Maud Ottilie Alice)
Maud Roxana Elinor
Maud India Scarlett (or Maud India Elinor) [to heck with the GWTW images, I love this!]
Maud Sophie Angelina
and three Maud Lila combos (I’m quite taken with sweet little Lila these days and think I could live with her happily ensconced in the middle, forever):

Maud Lila Valentina
Maud Lila Celestine
Maud Lila Ottoline

If I had to pick one of those Lila combos, it’d probably be Maud Lila Ottoline (and part of me is tempted to flip it, Ottoline Lila Maud which would compete with Ottoline Alice Marigold in my head).

Anyone have any thoughts on Maud, themselves? 😀

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 14:45:00

    Maud is a pretty solid name. I used to hate it, but I’ve come around to the “wouldn’t use it, but would love to see it on someone else’s kid” boat. Ottoline Lila Maud is divine! I’m digging your Lila combos lately; it just seems to work with all of your favourites! Maud India Scarlett is pretty awesome, and quit vivid to me: Lilac, bright navy blue, and bright red! I’m also loving the color depictions here; it’s always interesting to see what other people see.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 15:02:28

    Thanks! I’m thinking I should include something that gives an overall image impression when I post a new name. I have a lot of color/texture assocations with names (words too) and sometimes the texture takes over the color (Beatrix is an exampe, she’s a gorgeous deep, bright red, but more than that, she’s juicy, like a strawberry!)

    And Lila’s a blue-ish lavender, not Lilac, to me. So deep purple lavender, blue lavender and hot pink is what Ottoline Lila Maud is for me!

    Reply

  3. Cat
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 15:20:25

    Oh, I was talking about Maud India Scarlett with mine! Ottoline Lila Maud is a warm red-brown, orange & green (nicer than it sounds) and then a lilac, going into a darker muted purple. Sort of the color of these fingernails: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_3QwOQ9KkdW8/SKSowBFjFvI/AAAAAAAABRg/j6CzTga0JzQ/s1600-h/callyourmother.jpg but a little more blue/silver toned. That’s Maud. Maude is slightly lighter.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 18:03:06

    My bad! Maud India Scarlett’s hot pink, brick red & deep red to me.
    Brick red: http://www.merlyncrystals.com/detail_images/di_ts_redjasper.jpg
    this deep red: http://www.coloradogem.com/images/1998_big.jpg
    (the stone is the closest I could find to her actual color to me, yes Scarlett with 2 ‘t’s glows!

    She’s quite appealing to me.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Maud Evermore « Lola’s Onomastic Fits

Leave a Reply

