Beatrix, evermore

Okay, I know I had 4 combos supposedly final in an earlier entry but I’ve since rearranged them and re-thought them. My problem is I find so many combos I like with Beatrix, I find it hard to narrow them down, Completely opposite of Florence! Worse, they all honor in some fashion, and that makes it harder to narrow them down!

Here are the “new & revised Beatrix combos:

Beatrix Esme Valentine – Hard to eliminate this one. Valentine’s for my late Pop and I’m rather fond of her. (Wayne is hard to feminise!)

Beatrix Ruby Marilyn – Ruby’s for me (born in July) Marilyn’s a lovely Aunt. Still alive, which is why she’s in third.

Beatrix Flora Ophélie – Flora’s for Florence (who went by Flora anyway) and Ophélie is my favorite form of the lucious Ophelia without the possibility of oh-feel-ya. (I say oh-FEL-ee-ya anyway).

Beatrix Poppy Elinor – my beloved, starchy  girl. I love her feel & flow but think some days she may be too British feeling, especially next to continental Josephine, with the Spanish middle name.  But I adore her bright, happy feel.

Beatrix Flora Winifred – Winifred’s my newest Aunt by marriage (well, three years now) but she’s a lovely lady and puts up with crazy Uncle Skip quite easily. I’d love to be able to honor her, which is why Winifred ends up in my combos fairly often.

 

You can vote in today’s poll: here if you’re so inclined, and don’t feel like leaving a comment.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bethany
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 12:01:47

    I completely adore Beatrix. I really do love your Beatrix Poppy Elinor but I also really like Beatrix Esme Valentine and Beatrix Ruby Marilyn. But as usual, all are great and I be more than happy to see any of them on a little girl.

    Reply

  2. Bethany
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 12:05:46

    Ooh I’ve just spotted Beatrix Violet Cleophée! What a beauty!

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 21:23:32

    You can have her if you want, dear. I’m most likely going to go with Beatrix Ruby Marilyn or Beatrix Poppy Elinor, depending on my mood any given day. 😉

    Reply

  4. Cat
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 22:43:00

    I love all your combos, as usual, but I’m completely infatuated with Beatrix Flora Ophelie this time around. It just seems so…I don’t know. But it’s totally awesome! My second choice is Beatrix Poppy Elinor, the old stalwart. I think it goes fine with Josie’s name, personally. Anyway, they’d probably be Josie and Bea most of the time, and it is just the cutest set of siblings ever. Thumbs up for all, as usual.

    Reply

  5. Mia
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 19:26:48

    I adore Beatrix. I see that Beatrice had a jump in popularity between 2006 and 2007 (according to the charts at Babynamesworld/PC) and Beatrix might break into the top 1000 on similarity. Beatrix Poppy Elinor is lovely, and I think Beatrix and Josephine are great together.

    Beatrix Esme Valentine is pretty groovy too.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 20:14:01

    According to SSA, Beatrice last year charted higher than she has since 1994! Beatrix hasn’t been on the charts since 1883. I figure, even if she does show up, she’s not going to zoom to #5, not soon, anyway. Trixie as a potential nickname turns a lot of folks off. (it’s one of the things this “Trixie Belden” fan likes about the name!) Yeah, I think I’m probably going to stick with Beatrix Poppy Elinor, she’s been the most consistent combo on my lists (bar Ottoline Alice Marigold) and I figure that must mean something!

    Thanks for stopping by Mia!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

