The EEEE- boys

Ivan, particular.  ee-VAHN, how hard is it? My goodness. And I wonder why we Yanks don’t. I mean, take Igor. How do you say it?  ee-GORE, I think everyone’s heard in in Frankenstein, at least once. And if we can manage ee-GORE, why not ee-VAHN?

 As EYE-van, he’s flat, clunky and bland. As ee-VAHN, he’s Strong, handsome & sharp.  Doesn’t he sound completely luscious this way?  I find ee-VAHN so much more appealing, don’t you?  I’m actually wondering if  it’s worth correcting everyone and sundry for. Today, I say Yes!  Ivan’s wonderful!

Ivan’s got a bum rap here in the States, as a symbol for USSR during the cold war. He’s also been a fairly devastating hurricane but he’s also been the name of several hundred artists (one of my favorites: Ivan Kolisnyk).

Lovely, isn't it?

Lovely, isn't it?

 

How hard would it be to enforce ee-VAHN, do you think? I’m really tempted to try! I think Ivan’s a force to be recokned with, one awesome dude of a name.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Nov 09, 2008 @ 17:24:17

    I don’t think it’d be too hard to get Ee-vahn, but I must confess I prefer Eye-vahn. It’s one of those names that my boyfriend likes that I wouldn’t expect him to (along with Sigrid), so I’ve got a fondness for it. I think everyone would go with Eye-vahn at first, but I think you could push it. Honestly, I’d stick it in the middle if there’s pronunciation confusion, since I know how much it bothers you!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Nov 09, 2008 @ 18:41:59

    Thanks Cat! Nice to have the feedback, it’s one that’s been bugging me for a good while!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

