Mathilda

 Yep, she’s definitely on the list now. Granted she’s in #7 spot right now,  but I have a feeling she’s going to be climbing higher before long. She’s very appealing!  😀

Mathilda’s pronounced the same as Matilda and feels quite a bit more regal to me (I know the precedent runs the other way) and does not make me think of kangaroos. I think I’d call her Tillie (for the family Tilley) or Maudie at least once in a  while. Josephine goes by Josie, Poppy, Fifi, Effie and the full Josephine about equally. Mathilda, Tillie/Maudie works for me!

Mathilda Esme Primrose MacK. Oh yes, I do like her.

The full Girl list looks like this right now:

Cecily Pandora Jane (I’ve been won over to the dark side, I’m in love with Pandora!)
Ottoline Alice Marigold
Eulalie Frances Madelief
Beatrix Flora Ophélie
Pomeline Frances Elinor
Lucretia Ruby Elinor
Mathilda Esme Primrose

 

Now, I have to admit, Ottoline & Pomeline (rhymey though they may be) are the two that have been on my lsit the longest, close to three years now for both of them. Pomeline hasn’t always been in the top 10 but she’s never left them. Ottoline has drifted between #’s 1 & 2 for that whole time. I think she’s just awesome but am not sure how liveable she is, entirely. I’d’ve loved to have a distinctive name like that as a kid, myself. But how to guage the “need” for that before you see them? I’ve no idea.

And just as an added fun plug: http://www.finestationery.com/index.cfm

Has the coolest site for not only some of the loveliest stationery I’ve seen in a good while, they allow you to personalise everything form birth announcements to business cards (and everyhting in between (Kids calling cards? Awesome!)  I like to go there, pick out a buisness card and put my combos on it with the surname. (I must admit, that’s what really sold me on Ottoline Alice Marigold MacK. Stunning. Absolutely stunning written down. And so fun to write out too! )

Leave a Reply

