Boys names that End in ‘O’

Since the Boys names ending in ‘Y’ seemed like such a hit, I thought I’d toss out all those lovely -O enders I’ve collected. I love the letter O. So lovely to write out, so pretty to see.  No, I do not use O and 0 (zero) interchangeably. Even Josephine’s got it down already. 4:00 is four, zero, zero to her, not four, oh, oh.  I used to get smacked for it both at home & at school. “Zero is a number, O is a letter!”  Told you my Pop insisted on precise wording!   Anyhoo…

Those O ending boys. They feel comfortable, friendly, and accessible.  I have quite a few favorites ending in O and used my most favorite one of all years ago. I don’t think it’s too weird to have two boys ending in o, particularly, especially with the years between them.

 

They all have something… I don’t know what to call it –  attitude, charm, a happy vibe – soemthing like that. So without further ado, here for your enjoyment, the ‘O’ boys   :

 

 Adamo  
Alejandro
Almanzo
Alonzo
Alphonso/Alfonso
Ando
Angelo
Antonio
Arlo
Armando
Augusto
Aurelio
Austo
Bardo
Benno
Bernardo
Bruno
Carino
Carlo
Carmelo
Claudio
Cordelio
Cosmo      (awesome!)
Cristo
Damiano
Dano
Dario     (am I the only one who finds him absolutely swoony?)
Diego
Domenico
Domo
Donado
Donaldo
Donato
Doro
Draco   (yes, even Malfoy can’t ruin it)
Drago
Eduardo 
Endo
Enzo
Federico
Fidelio   (a wa
y to get past Fidel)
Felipo
Finno
Flavio
Francisco
Franco
Fredo 
Geo
Giacomo
Giano
Gino/Geno
Guillermo
Harlowe
Helo
Hiro)
Hugo
Indigo
Indio )
Inigo  (” The Princess Bride rules. )
Jaco
Jago
Julio
Juneau
Kendo
Kenno
Keo/Kio
Kiro
Lando
Lauro
Leandro 
Ledo
Lendo
Leno/Lenno
Leo
Leonardo
Leondo
Lindo
Liro
Lonzo
Luciano
Luco
/Luko
Marco
Marlo
Matteo
Miko/Mico
Milo
Morro )
Nemo  (maybe not, ‘No man’ is not a cool meaning and then there’s the fish…)
Nico
Nicolo
Nigelo
Nilo
Niro
Noro
Octavio
Orlo
Orro
Oslo
Ossio
Otto
Paavo
Paolo
Randolpho/Randolfo
Renaldo
Renaudo
Revio
Ricardo
Rico
Rigelio
Rigelo
Riggo
Ringo (go, Beatles!)
Rio
Rivelo
Ro/Roe/Rowe
Roberto
Rocco
Rolando
Rollo   I love him! and the candy is Rolo!)
Romando
Romano
Romeo
Romero
Rondo
Roscoe
Royo
Rozzo
Rudolpho/Rudolfo
Runo
Sando
Santo
Sanzo
Shiloh
Silvio
Simlo
Sinto
Sisko
Spiro
Stasio
Stavio
Stefano
Tago
Tanzo
Taro
Tavio
Theo
Tillo
Tormo
Trevo
Tristo
Tylo
Ulio/Yulio
Valencio
Valentino
Vando
Vanno
Varo
Vego
Veno
Vero
Vicento
Vicenzo
Victorio
Viego
Vieno/Vienno
Viggo
Vincento
Vito
Vittorio
Vittoro
Waldo
Wylo
Xenio
Yurio
Zaro
Zavio
Zeno
Zorro

Notes where I had a thought. My personal favorites are bolded & underlined.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JNE
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 11:51:20

    I love the O names and agree they have a certain something that makes them so loveable. While so many of the names on your list are tops (Cosmo – yay!, Arlo are faves)… there are a few that actually kind of scare me :-) Maybe I’m easily scared :-P

    Can’t get past Adolfo/Adolpho being Adolph with an O (and I’ve even known a few – I just think it’s an unfortunate name due to the association).

    Inigo – ahhh… got to love it, but if a friend named their child this as a first name, I’d have to teach him to say, “you killed my father, now prepare to die” – I’m sure they’d so appreciate that!

    Draco… sorry, Malfoy ruins that for me… and it’s a little vampiric/ or heads on poles for me – too close to Dracul.

    Cosmo is great – who could resist? And Kramer is a great character/charicature for a kid to have as a namesake (loved Seinfeld). Plus the cosmic-ness is so much fun.

    Gordo? = fat in spanish
    Tonto? = stupid in spanish
    couldn’t go there…

    Leo – ah, my first love… (Leopoldo, actually in full – his name)… could never use it myself, but such a sexy name…. OK, maybe not to all, but Leo (was) it for me once

    Viggo – GREAT name! Not sure why I like it so much, but it’s tough, cool, fun, serious – it has it all for my ears.

    Hugo is great too! Love it!

    So many great names on your list, but I just thought to mention some that stuck out to me… Go Go O!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Dec 30, 2008 @ 13:16:29

      Huzzah, another Cosmo lover! If the last one’s a boy, he will definitely be Cosmo. And the first one’s Leo! I still like Draco. He beats Drake hands down on my lists. (Rather how Theron outshines Hunter any day). But I don’t speak Spanish and had no iidea of the crossovers, consider them off the list! And Inigo stays on the list for Inigo Jones as much for Montoya and the wonderful Mandy Patinkin. Adolfo doesn’t bother me and honestly, while typing it out didn’t once think of Hitler. Consider Adolpho off as well. Thanks for pointing some of those out! :)

      Reply

    • Jonathan Benezry
      Feb 25, 2011 @ 00:51:54

      Don’t forget about:

      Alessandro
      Bo
      Boyko
      Hideo
      Hiro
      Ido
      Joe
      Kazuo
      Moe
      Pablo
      Pashko
      Pedro
      Petko
      Rigoberto
      Rodrigo
      Sancho
      Shlomo

      Reply

  2. Jam
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 20:19:58

    You totally left out DINO my favorite name of all! How could you?

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 21:47:45

    Jam, That was an intentional leave – out, too. I don’t know how old you are, but I’m 40 -ish and while I like Dino as a nn for the jazzy Dean; my first thought on Dino as a standalone was ‘Flintstones pet’. He’s in my kids vitamins, even. But I will admit Dino made me think Martin first & foremost. (My mother once told me she married Pop because ‘he looked so much like Dino’.) Well, that’s enough to make “me” like him. But it’s not one I’ll add to the list just yet. In maybe 5 years, I might. :)

    Let Dino be between us! He *is* cool!

    Reply

  4. Tanya
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 18:24:23

    we have three boys – Mateo, Bruno and Enzo. How do you name a 4th boy after that streak of O names?!! We used Tavo as a middle name for one of them and really like Diego…but honestly can’t stand the idea of everyone assuming he’s an animal rescuer. My vote is for Tiago, but my husband isn’t so keen on it. so thanks for posting your mass amount of O names to give us some to mull over!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 03, 2011 @ 08:08:43

      You’re most welcome Tanya! Matteo, Bruno & Enzo are fabulous. Tiago’s neat, but if they were mine, a 4th would be Leo, Hugo or Tillo! Just so you know! Good Luck! :D

      Reply

  5. Iris
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 10:33:03

    We love Cosmo and might pair it after Jet. But I wanted to add Venturo to your list-another fave of ours. BTW I love your name Lola! We almost named our Luna that.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 16:08:29

    Hi Iris! Venturo was the surname of family friends when I was a kid, I’ll think about adding it, I swear! Cosmo Jet is cool! I’m not nearly as adventurous with middles, especially since Cosmo is so ‘out there’ a choice to begin with. He’s our #2, as Cosmo Henry George. I figure I’d give him normal type middles in case he hates Cosmo! (conversely, I gave my daughter an ‘out there’ middle since Josephine is so normal).
    Lovely to see you here, hope to see you again!

    Reply

  7. Vicki
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 14:25:07

    My favorite “O” name is FRISCO.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

